What is it?
Rice milk is a kind of grain milk, processed from rice. It is usually made from brown rice. Rice milk is naturally sweet from the process used to make it, so it’s typically unsweetened. However, some rice milk may be sweetened with sugar cane or other sugars. Rice milk is vegan and vegetarian and contains no animal by-products. Some manufacturers use sugar and/or vanilla to make rice milk taste more like cow’s milk.
What are the benefits?
As we already mentioned, rice milk is great if you are vegan or vegetarian. It is great for people who are lactose intolerant. Rice milk is lower in fat than cow’s milk, but does contain more carbohydrates. Rice milk does not contain a significant source of protein or calcium like milk does. However, most brands are fortified with calcium, so the benefits are the same. Rice milk is also a great option for those allergic to soy or lowering their soy intake.
How can you use it?
Rice milk can be used as a substitute for milk in most recipes and products. However, since it is not as thick as milk, not all recipes will work with rice milk. For more tips, visit the Yahoo page on cooking with rice milk.
Whether you are allergic to regular milk or not, grab a box of rice milk this week and give it a shot! You may find yourself switching permanently!